Taqueria La Raza: Homestyle Mexican Eats in North Philadelphia

27 Oct

Taqueria La Raza's spicy chicken burrito

So far I’ve focused on Mexican places in New Jersey, but Philadelphia is just over the bridge and has its fair share of excellent restaurants. I’d like to highlight a little place that’s off the beaten trail.

Taqueria La Raza is a small unpretentious restaurant on the corner of Allegheny Ave. and American St. in Philadelphia. The food is incredibly affordable, the most expensive item on the menu is $11. The people at the eatery set it apart from other taco joints. The staff is awesome, and the owner, Juan, is a sociable alligator hunter who said, “It tastes like chicken.”

The largest glass of horchata I have ever seen.

I got the spicy chicken burrito and my companion ordered tacos pobres. I washed down my food with the largest glass of horchata I have ever consumed.

If you’re looking for a good meal with a lot of personality I suggest you head on over.

One Response to “Taqueria La Raza: Homestyle Mexican Eats in North Philadelphia”

  1. Vinny Grette October 27, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    This looks amazingly good, and serve on a healthy salad!

Leave a Reply

