Chef Batista Ernesto on Mexican Food the Puebla Way

13 Oct

Chef Batista Ernesto and myself at The Mexican Food Factory

The Mexican Food Factory has been around about as long as rice and beans, since 1979 to be exact. I decided to see what all the fuss was about. The food was simple, colorful and flavorful.

The chef, Batista Ernesto, came by at the end of the meal for a quick chat. He was relaxed and friendly, true to Mexican-style hospitality. He’s from Puebla, a large city in central Mexico.

 How long have you been a chef?

“About seven years.”

 How did you learn to cook?

“I learned from my uncle, he was actually a chef at an Italian restaurant. I cooked with my sister too. I like food, I cook for friends a lot.”

 What is your favorite food to prepare?

“I love to cook fish. Salmon is my favorite, also snapper and tuna.”

 And your favorite food to eat?

“Rice and beans, but mostly beans. My parents say beans are good, the doctor says beans are good. I love them. They’re comfort food.”

What is the most traditional dish on the menu?

“Fajitas are the most traditional mixed with onions, peppers, and cilantro.”

Ernesto moonlights as DJ Tazz in Philadelphia and Camden, he was looking over a set list when I left. The Mexican Food Factory is located on Route 70 West in Marlton, NJ.

3 Responses to “Chef Batista Ernesto on Mexican Food the Puebla Way”

  1. caittwills October 15, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Great story! Love it! I’ll definitely have to go try it out now!

  2. sutmike22 October 15, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I like the blog layout, I like all the attribution and links, and I really like the pictures. The only thing that I noticed is the blog name is hard to read since it is all one word.

    • sjtacotime October 15, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      Good point, thanks for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

